Whitehorse Daily Star

Two dozen names added to the Senator’s Cup

Two dozen names were added to the Senator’s Cup at this year’s Klondike Road Relay.

By Whitehorse Star on September 11, 2017

Two dozen names were added to the Senator’s Cup at this year’s Klondike Road Relay.

Now in its 35th year, the Klondike Trail of ‘98 International Road Relay starts in Skagway and finishes 176.5 kilometres later in Whitehorse.

It follows the White Pass route that many stampeders took during the Gold Rush.

The race is divided into 10 legs varying in distance from 9K to 25K.

In 2010, then Senator Dan Lang donated a trophy to celebrate those who had completed all 10 legs.

“This is truly a social event, no matter your size, no matter your shape, no matter how fast you are, you can participate, and it does get people out the door and away from the TV,” he said when the trophy was unveiled.

The Senator’s Cup now features more than 200 names.

The class of 2017 includes: Amara Liggett, Becky Jensen, Bill Zagrocki, Caro Rosier-Polley, Chera Boom, Corey Roussell, Dan Monteith, Dan Robinson, Dianne Bruce, Dolly Kremers, Greg Lane, Jared Erickson, Jenn Roberts, John Kremers, Julie Meyers, Kathy Kartchner, Lisa Worden, Marcia Lalonde, Maura Sullivan, Megan Ahleman, Ric Wilson, Steve Agee, Susetta Cole and William Grether.

Senator’s Cup Class of 2017

Amara Liggett - Anchorage
Becky Jensen - Skagway
Bill Zagrocki - Anchorage
Caro Rosier-Polley - Auke Bay
Chera Boom - Anchorage
Corey Roussell - Whitehorse
Dan Monteith - Juneau
Dan Robinson - Juneau
Dianne Bruce - Whitehorse
Dolly Kremers - Juneau
Greg Lane - Whitehorse
Jared Erickson - Juneau
Jenn Roberts - Whitehorse
John Kremers - Juneau
Julie Meyers - Calgary
Kathy Kartchner - Juneau
Lisa Worden - Juneau
Marcia Lalonde - Whitehorse
Maura Sullivan - Whitehorse
Megan Ahleman - Juneau
Ric Wilson - Anchorage
Steve Agee - Anchorage
Susetta Cole - Juneau
William Grether - Anchorage

Be the first to comment

Add your comments or reply via Twitter @whitehorsestar

In order to encourage thoughtful and responsible discussion, website comments will not be visible until a moderator approves them. Please add comments judiciously and refrain from maligning any individual or institution. Read about our user comment and privacy policies.

Your name and email address are required before your comment is posted. Otherwise, your comment will not be posted.