Toyota Leaderboard July 18/13 Oct 04/13 Feb 11/14

Sports archive for May 26, 2009

Special Olympics Yukon team preparing for B.C. games

Twenty-six Yukoners have their sights set on Abbotsford for the 2009 Special Olympics B.C. Games.

By Jon Molson on May 26, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Twenty-six Yukoners have their sights set on Abbotsford for the 2009 Special Olympics B.C. Games.

Team Yukon is comprised of 16 athletes, competing in bocce, athletics and soccer. This will mark the first time Special Olympics Yukon sends a bocce team to an Outside competition.

The B.C. Games will be held from July 9-12 and serve as a qualifier for the 2010 Special Olympics Canada Summer Games that are being held in London, Ont.

Special Olympics Yukon’s will also hold qualifiers for swimming and five-pin bowling, said it’s executive director Serge Michaud.

He said the Yukon will send five bowlers and two swimmers to the 2010 nationals in London.

Michaud said he is proud of all the hard work that Special Olympics Yukon athletes have put in preparing for the B.C. provincials.

“First I would like to congratulate all of our athletes for being selected to go to Abbotsford and those that participated in the qualifiers for swimming and five pin (bowling),” he said. “I am just very proud of all of the training they have put in and all of the hard work and determination in playing the sports that they love.”

Bocce is a relatively new program offered by Special Olympics Yukon. Michaud said the organization started offering it in May 2008 and capitalized on the opportunity to send a team to Abbotsford.

Bocce qualifications were done late March to mid-April.

The Yukon’s bocce squad includes athletes Mallory Pigage, Nick Ross, Caron Ross and Michael Sumner. Janine Smith is the group’s head coach and Brant Gibbon is its lone mission staff.

The 10 soccer players on Team Yukon include Kenny Atlin, Rachel Dawson, Willy Everett, Lester Gladue, Christopher Lee, Darrin Lee, Darrin Lucas, Gaetan Michaud, Stefan Oettli, Colin Sterriah and Patrick Sterriah.

The team’s three coaches are Christina McGillivray, Grant MacDonald and Cody Wilkinson. Clayton Francis is the soccer team’s mission staff.

Owen Munroe and Jessica Pruden will represent the Yukon in athletics, while Lindsay Agar is the team’s head coach.

Michaud is also going to Abbotsford as the Yukon’s chef de mission, while Thomas Gibbs and Natasha Jaczek are both team managers/assistant chef de missions.

CommentsAdd a comment

No comments yet. Why not be the first?

Add a comment

In order to encourage thoughtful and responsible discussion, comments will not be visible until a moderator approves them. Please add comments judiciously and refrain from maligning any individual or institution. Read about our user comment and privacy policies.

Your full name and email address are required before your comment will be posted.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.

Comment preview